Lin-Manuel Miranda faces controversy after the release of In The Heights movie regarding the lack of Afro-Latinx actors in the film. In The Heights, written by Miranda was originally a Broadway musical which was then adapted for film, starring Anthony Ramos, Stephanie Beatriz, and Melissa Berrera as part of an ensemble cast.

In The Heights is about a close-knit Latino community in Washington Heights, New York. It speaks of dreams and the colorful Latino culture and the struggles of living in a world that is sometimes unforgiving. Although the movie has received positive reviews, there are also people criticizing Miranda for not casting Afro-Latinx actors in the film.

Lin-Manuel Miranda took to Twitter on Tuesday to apologize to his fans. In the Tweet, he says, “I can hear the hurt and frustration over colorism of feeling still unseen in the feedback”. He goes on to apologize by saying, “I’m truly sorry. I’m learning from the feedback, I thank you for raising it, and I am listening,”

-LMM pic.twitter.com/CHfdLgFUz3

— Lin-Manuel Miranda (@Lin_Manuel) June 14, 2021

Puerto Rican actress Rita Moreno spoke out against the criticism over Lin-Manuel Miranda at The Late Show on Tuesday. “This is the man who literally has brought Latino-ness and Puerto Rican-ness to America. I couldn’t do it. I mean, I would love to say I did, but I couldn’t,” Moreno told Stephen Colbert. “Lin-Manuel has done that, really single-handedly, and I’m thrilled to pieces, and I’m proud that he produced my documentary.”

Moreno who was the star of the 1961 West Side Story, also has experience with telling stories about the Latino community. She has also worked with Miranda on her new documentary Rita Moreno: Just a Girl Who Decided to Go for It, which charts her journey from humble beginnings in Puerto Rico to success on Broadway and in Hollywood.

The In The Heights movie released in the United States on June 10, 2021, in both theaters and on HBO Max.