I’ll be honest, I never imagined truly wireless earphones being as convenient as they are. However, I have been using a wide variety of truly wireless earphones over the last 18 months. I have used the Galaxy Buds and Galaxy Buds+, the AirPods and AirPods Pro, Redmi Buds, Noise Shots XO, and more. So when Xiaomi sent over the Mi True Wireless Earphones 2 (Rs. 4,499) to me, it was something that really excited me.

Even though I barely glanced at the box contents when I opened these up, that’s really not something I usually do. So here’s what’s inside the box with these earphones:

Design and Build

For most truly wireless earbuds, I have begun to almost expect an AirPods-like design. Not because I especially love what the AirPods look like, but brands have focused on that design far too often. These Mi True Wireless earphones try to be slightly different from the AirPods; but only ever so slightly.

Overall, I’m fairly happy with the design, so I have no real complaints there.

There are a lot of things these earphones get right, or close to it anyway, and comfort and fit is definitely one of those things. The Mi True Wireless Earphones 2 are really comfortable to wear, which is not something I expected just looking at them. I mean, they look fairly bulky, but they are very lightweight. That means I found myself wearing these for hours without any sign of fatigue at all and that’s awesome.

I have had the pleasure of playing around with a lot of truly wireless earphones, and most of the affordable ones have only passable audio quality. The Mi True Wireless Earphones 2 however, are markedly better than most in this aspect.

The Mi True Wireless Earphones 2 come with tap controls instead of touch controls. That means it automatically reduces the kinds of interactions you can have. There’s no long-touches here, but you can use different taps for different interactions. Here’s what you can do, and how:

  • Answer/end calls: double tap on either earphone
  • Play/pause music: double tap right earphone
  • Voice assistant: double tap left earphone

There’s a very silly issue here by the way. Xiaomi says you can use these earphones one at a time as well. To do this, you can take out one earphone — that pauses the music automatically. Then, you can double tap on the other earphone to resume playback allowing you to listen with just one earphone.

In terms of connectivity, all is golden here. The earphones come with Bluetooth 5.0, which is great. You can use them individually if you want, and pairing them is incredibly fast and easy. For non-Xiaomi phones, you just have to long press the button on the side of the case for a few seconds to put it into pairing mode. Then you can just pair with the earphones using your phone’s Bluetooth menu.

The earphones support SBC, AAC, and LHDC codecs. However there’s no support for aptX here which is a bummer.

One place where the Mi True Wireless Earphones are lagging behind the competition is the battery life. Not by a lot, but they do fall behind when compared to options like the Realme Buds Air, or the many options from Noise. The earphones have a 30mAh battery, while the charging case packs in a 250mAh battery. 

I say this in almost every review I write: every thing has its pros and cons. The Mi True Wireless Earphones 2 are no different. Here’s what’s good and bad about them.

Cons:

  • Design could have been better
  • Battery life not at par with competition

Mi True Wireless Earphones 2: They Don’t Disappoint

At the end of the day, if I had purchased the Mi True Wireless Earphones 2, I wouldn’t be disappointed with what these are. Xiaomi has managed to more or less do everything well here. The earphones look slightly thick, but they are comfortable. They get loud and the sound quality is great for the price; plus they pair really easily. For Rs. 4,499 these earphones are a no brainer.